07
Oct
10

Waiting

On early Wednesday morning Julie took a turn for the worse.  The hospice nurse came in and tended to her.  Based on what the nurse was seeing, she revised her lifespan guess down to 3-4 days.

Later in the morning Julie’s heartbeat changed, which told the nurse we were probably looking at more like 4-5 hours.  Julie’s heart recovered, but I don’t think anyone thought she’d make it through the night.

Yet it’s morning, and Julie is still with us.  I’ve been keeping her in medications through the night.  I think she’s comfortable.  She’s mostly unresponsive and apparently unaware of what’s going on around her, as she has been since sometime yesterday morning.

The hospice nurse spent pretty much the entire day with us yesterday, until I told her I felt I could handle it through the night.  At one point yesterday the nurse felt Julie needed a different oxygen machine.  She had to raise a ruckus, but got one delivered in under an hour!  She called me at 7AM this morning, and will be back here shortly.  The support they provide is just great.

I’m not sure how long Julie has with us.  I don’t think it’s long, but no one really knows.  I’ll put up a post when I have more news.

Take care, everyone.

-B.

6 Responses to “Waiting”


  1. 1 kevin
    October 7, 2010 at 8:24 am

    God bless you.

  2. 2 Laura Illige Harvey
    October 7, 2010 at 8:30 am

    Love & hugs to you Brian.

  3. 3 Jo Paola
    October 7, 2010 at 8:48 am

    Hi Brian and family:

    I want you to know that we all talked about Julie yesterday in our support group meeting……maybe that is why her heart got stronger……she knew we were all right there with her! ‘Just want you to know I am thinking of you and your family and I know this isn’t an easy time for you. You are doing such a wonderful job of taking care of our precious, Julie. Thank you. We all appreciate your updates.

    JO Paola

  4. 4 Carrie
    October 7, 2010 at 8:56 am

    I am confident that Julie knows you’re there, Brian. Take heart. Your love gives her strength.

  5. 5 Lynnette
    October 7, 2010 at 10:03 am

    I ditto what Carrie said. I’ve been trying to write that for several of your posts, but couldn’t come up with the right words: Your love gives her strength.

    Sending many hugs to you both!

  6. 6 Kathy Greenlaw-Stuff
    October 7, 2010 at 11:39 am

    Brian,
    Your words bring thoughts of waiting for my mom, then my dad to pass over, many years ago. Your ability to put the experience into words here is a gift to anyone who has shared a similar journey. My hope is that it is helping you, too. We never really knew each other, but it’s obvious you two share a love so very deep and lovely. My thoughts are never far from you two these days,and prayers are being offered throughout my faith community for you all.(Even for dear little Robin).
    Much love,
    Kathy


Leave a Reply

Post archive

October 2010
S M T W T F S
« Sep    
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers


