09
May
10

Making Strides Against Breast Cancer walk was today . . .

. . . and I missed it.

(OK, so I started this post Saturday, but didn’t finish it.)

I’ve been immune-compromised since the last chemo, and giving myself neupogen shots. Apparently I caught something, because I felt OK Friday evening, to the point that I had everything ready to go in the morning for the walk; but in the middle of the night I started having trouble sleeping, with a little bit of everything chemo-side-effect-related cropping up. So unfortunately I wasn’t up for the walk.

Brian and Robin, however, were, so they went off to meet up with the Schrödinger Team over at the Rose Garden Arena, where “a good time was had by all”. They took the 2.5 mile route, and made good time. “They” are: Leah (thank you for organizing this year!), her husband Dan and son Marshall; Carrie, James, and Lucas (who, I understand was very well behaved! (Lucas, not James)(well, I didn’t hear that James was badly behaved, although he and Brian were apparently making plans for how they *could* get arrested. . .)); Dean and Dionne (Dean himself just had some surgery – good on him for being in good enough shape to be walking so far so soon!); and Evelyn, Chris, and Vada, who came down from Seattle for the walk. Forgive me if I missed anybody – Brian told me who was there, and I think I mentioned everyone.

I know there were several other people who made donations: Schrödinger made a sizable donation (and thank you Michelle!); Dean and Evelyn made donations as well as walking; Leah and Marshall donated/raised the most collective donations on the team; and Jenny, Dan, Kevin, and Carrie Weston all made donations. If you made a donation that I don’t list here, it is because some people chose to make “stealth” donations without putting their names on the honor rolls. But know that I appreciate those as much as the ones that are “claimed” ;-}

And special thanks go to Evelyn, who made me a beautiful quilt – I will post pictures on the blog soon. The label says:

“Nature’s peace will flow into you
as sunshine flows into trees.
The winds will blow their own
freshness into you, and the storms
their energy, while cares will drop
off like autumn leaves.”
John Muir

3 Responses to “Making Strides Against Breast Cancer walk was today . . .”


  1. May 9, 2010 at 3:25 pm

    Hi Julie,
    As you know this walk has meant a lot to me the last few years. I had planned to go, and I was really sad to miss it yesterday (I could give you the list of reasons/excuses but they don’t matter much). I was especially bummed to miss seeing you, so I guess I feel a tinge less bad since you couldn’t make it either. I’ve been thinking of you often and wanted you to know that my absence at the walk was not an indication of how much I care for you! I hope you are having a good day and feeling a little better.
    Talk to you soon!
    Jenny

  2. May 9, 2010 at 8:17 pm

    Oh Jenny!

    I figure you’ve got your hands pretty full right now with a nearly-6-month-old, two daughters, and working full time! As long as it wasn’t a crisis, that’s all that matters. Leah is talking about having an after-work get together one night the week after next – hopefully we can see each other then ;-}

  3. 3 Kevin
    May 10, 2010 at 8:54 am

    Schrodinger folks are beautiful.

    Hope you are feeling better soon….

    Love ya!

    me.


Leave a Reply

Post archive

May 2010
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers


