26
Apr
10

Chemo #4 – The Great Scrabble Hustle

Laura came to my chemo session today, which also involved meeting with the doctor. Fair warning: I told her this might give her tmi about my bodily functions, and told her I could come get her when it was time for chemo; but she decided to tough it out. I think she was a little flustered by the end.

And fair warning to readers: euphemisms ahead. If euphemisms are still too much for you, I recommend you skip this post.

This week I met with the gynecological oncologist who removed my ovaries (this is not a euphemism), because about 1 or 1-1/2 weeks into chemo I developed what seemed like an abrasion that had a lump associated with it down in my lady parts (euphemism). I thought at first it might be an ingrown hair causing an abscess (non-euphemism), but not being a contortionist was unable to get a good look, and it eventually cleared up to just being a small lump under the skin. It actually took another week or so for me to have a paranoid attack about whether someone (well, OK, women specifically), can develop cancer in their flower petals (euphemism).

So in my meeting with Dr. Sweetheart, she reassured me that although it was possible to have cancer there, it much more likely is a cyst or a healing abrasion, ingrown hair, or other injury-type lump. If it hasn’t completely cleared up in the next month or two, we’ll do a biopsy, but I’m no longer totally paranoid. As to the cause of the lump, I would have to relate that with many more euphemisms than even I care to type; so let it simply be said that it is still a mystery. However, the conversation regarding cause led to many more euphemistic-laden subjects, and neither Doctor Sweetheart nor I flinched, but I sensed some going on in my peripheral vision.

Suffice it to say that Brian and I are scheduling a date night for my next chemo break-week (euphemism).

Last night, Laura had suggested that I download Scrabble to my iPhone so we could play during chemo. We chose some recliners over in the corner, and passed the phone back and forth. Now, I’m a pretty good word person, and I know some pretty good $20 dollar words. I even know some pretty good $50 words; but seriously, what kind of word can you make with the letters NEELNER? or UUSKINI? and why, when Laura was getting all the “bad” letters (Z, X, Q, etc) was she not only able to make words, but get all the Triple Letter and Triple Word scores? I, sirs, have been hustled.

Next time, I’ll have to play the cancer card.

2 Responses to “Chemo #4 – The Great Scrabble Hustle”


  1. 1 margaret Stonich
    April 26, 2010 at 10:12 pm

    Yes when all else fails…play the cancer card. At least that is my motto. Sometimes when you really really got to have something (like a 3rd dog) it can pay off to use the “C” Card. In my case the Cancer card did not get me my 3rd dog.

    Perhaps I didn’t use enough conviction.

    Margaret

  2. 2 kevin
    May 3, 2010 at 7:55 am

    Ha!

    Damn the torpedoes with Scrabble. Darren and I have the version that you can play on a plane, the letters snap in to the board so when the plane is in turbulence (and I am hanging from my ass from the ceiling) it helps to soothe my panic attacks!

    Now I have a Droid (poor man’s version of iPhone) and my have to download that App!

    Love you Julie!!


Leave a Reply

Post archive

April 2010
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers


