07
Jun
09

Foreign Objects and Me

The surgery to have the chemo port removed was very quick – indeed, we spent more time between when my appointment was scheduled and when it actually started (1 hour) than we did undergoing the surgery (20 minutes, including changing into/out of the gown).

The numbing agent was just injected, and the surgeon started cutting before it had completely taken effect – it was very quick to get me numb (30 to 45 *seconds*), but she was quicker still. The first thing she did was cut out the old scar (it was very thick and red from having been cut open 3 times already – 2 ports in, 1 port out), and she told me that this would help keep it “pretty.” Considering the number and size of scars on my chest, and my displeasure about the appearance of my right-side implant, I can’t say that I think this is really going to make things prettier.

After the numbing agent kicked in fully, all I could feel was tugging, and I didn’t feel the tubing being dragged out of the vein at all. A few stitches, steri-strips, a cotton gauze pad, and some tegaderm later, I was dressed and Brian was driving me to Dairy Queen for the obligatory Heath Bar Blizzard after a medical procedure.

Friday afternoon the numbing agent seemed to be still working, because I didn’t really feel much at all. As the evening wore on, the pain grew, and it looked like quite a bit of blood had leaked. The pain kept me awake a long time that night. I was using ibuprofen because it seems to help the most with pain for me, but it wasn’t enough to let me sleep. Eventually out of sheer exhaustion I did fall asleep around 3:30 a.m. Saturday day was much the same painwise, until later in the afternoon it faded considerably. That evening and night, though it got bad again. So far today, it’s been pretty mild – I can take the tegaderm and cotton gauze off this evening, so we’ll see if that helps.

So the number of foreign objects in my body has now been reduced by 1/3.

1 Response to “Foreign Objects and Me”


  1. June 12, 2009 at 11:04 am

    I had to smile at your recount of making a scar “prettier”. I love your witty sense of humor through all of this. I’m so glad you are feeling better, and I can’t wait for your 4 month mark to get here, so you can stop dreading 3 months from port removal. Love to you!


Leave a Reply

Post archive

June 2009
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers


