18
Mar
09

Things I never knew were difficult

Today I went into work today (edited to add: included in the list, avoiding redundancy) instead of working from home – even working just over half a day had me sweating and totally wiped out.

I went in because there are some physical things I have to get ready for our tradeshow starting this weekend, and tomorrow I have to go in to finish them up and ship them off.

Did you know that making copies of CDs is difficult? I don’t remember it being so hard, but between shaky hands and peripheral neuropathy making my fingertips numb, it certainly is now.

Lifting pads of paper, sorting through pieces of paper, writing the same number over and over; these are all things that I wouldn’t normally think twice about (except maybe how boring they are). Today, I was glad that I didn’t have anything more exciting to work on!

But wait! I had to do some proofreading. My nose kept creeping closer and closer to the page, and after I read it for spelling and punctuation, I had to re-read a lot of it for context.

Yikes. I don’t know how long it’s going to take me to get back in shape just to be able to work a full day at the office once I’m done with the chemo – no doubt I’ll do it, because I have to, but man – I feel like less than half a person at this point, not even being able to read sensibly. Sigh.

2 Responses to “Things I never knew were difficult”


  1. 1 Carrie
    March 20, 2009 at 9:39 am

    Julie, you are truly heroic! Thank you so much for coming into the office to save us. Even with “chemo brain” your editing skills are better than mine. ;D Remember that today is your last treatment for March — you are almost done! You are such a strong & loving person — I am truly blessed to count you as a friend. Stay strong, and if you need *anything* please just ask. –Carrie

  2. March 20, 2009 at 11:25 am

    As I am truly blessed to have you for a friend – I wouldn’t have been able to get as much done as I did without your help; and not just in the last couple days, either!


Leave a Reply

Post archive

March 2009
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers


