12
Mar
09

So obvious. . .

. . .when I actually stop and think about it.

I have been so down, both physically and emotionally, that I haven’t been *really* thinking. Mind spinning, but nothing getting accomplished.

Finally, this week, I was so wiped out that I physically had to stop. The doctor told me I needed (well, OK, sort of *ordered* me) to limit my working hours, because my numbers haven’t been bouncing back very well. I have worked from home 1/2-time this week, and although I’m still very fatigued, and so weak that I could barely walk all the way out to the back yard to sit in the lovely, lovely sun, I feel better emotionally than I have in a long time.

One of the first things they tell you in the support group/class is that you have to take care of yourself.

I have been so focused on trying to be strong, and trying to miss as little work as possible (hey, it *is* the second time in 1-1/2 years I’ve had cancer, and I missed a lot of time last time around, even though it was FMLA time, and unpaid), and trying to do everything I can do when I’m healthy, that I had myself convinced that using DinnersReady to have meals in the freezer, and working full-time, just from home when I didn’t go in to the office, constituted taking care of myself.

How blind we are to our own limits!

I only have to be strong *enough* to get through this physically. If I take care of myself physically, the emotional part will also be at least partially taken care of.

Having to have the doctor tell me that I needed to take better care of myself physically, and to limit what I do made me really look at how hard I’ve been pushing.

I’m naturally a pusher (yeah, go ahead, giggle all you want) – I hate leaving things undone, and even though intellectually I know that other people can do things that I don’t get done, I feel compelled to try. The doctor called me a Type A personality – and the funny thing is, I really thought I’d left that behind me. It’s obviously a process, and when the going gets tough, I revert to type – in this case, Type A.

I don’t ever want to feel as if my job isn’t important to me, because it is. I want to do the best I can, always. But it took the doctor to remind me that the best I can do while on chemo is not the best I can do under normal circumstances.

People keep telling me how good I look this time – trust me, whatever it looks like on the outside, it’s bad inside. Actually it’s worse this time, even with low-dose spread over 4 months vs dose-intensive spread over 8 weeks. For whatever reason, I skated through chemo on Adriamycin – oh, I had side effects and felt extremely fatigued, but I was already limiting my work hours from having taken time off for surgery, and there was no expectation that I was going to try to work full-time then. But the pain, the digestive/intestinal side-effects, the insomnia, and the build-up of the other Taxol/Avastin side-effects as I’ve been on them for 2-1/2 months is a lot worse than that.

In one way it was very freeing to have an authority (the doctor) tell me I had to slow down – I let go of the worry, for now. This time is different than last time, and I have been feeling upset that I wasn’t coping as well as last time. But that’s OK – I don’t have to cope the same, be as strong, or as humorous, or as positive; I just need to be enough of these.

2 Responses to “So obvious. . .”


  1. March 12, 2009 at 11:49 pm

    Note to self: I am not superwoman no matter how much I want to be! 🙂 I’m really happy to read this. Yay doctor’s orders…Love ya!

  2. 2 zuzuernie
    March 21, 2009 at 4:41 pm

    There is something freeing about having a doctor tell you to slow it down. When I was first diagnosed with bipolar disorder, I was told to clean off my plate entirely. Wow. It was kind of nice to almost “blame” him. Then it looked like I really wanted to help with something, but had been told I couldn’t. I don’t understand why it is so difficult for us to just say, “I don’t feel like it,” but it is.

    Thanks for writing on my blog. I am enjoying yours! Blessings and enjoy your “girl-time!”


Leave a Reply

Post archive

March 2009
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers


