10
Mar
09

Flashbacks, non-acid-related

It just occurred to me when I felt this exact same way – unable to concentrate on books, knitting, work, movies; and even more, when I really didn’t *want* to concentrate on anything – it was after my mastectomy in September of ’07, and for about 7 or 8 weeks afterward. Admittedly, I had another bout of the same thing related to chemo in December of ’07, so I presume that the chemo is catching up with me finally.

I tried to read The Sound and the Fury by William Faulkner, but oddly enough, the random thought-pattern of Benjy was too much like my own chemo-brain pattern to allow me to focus. Instead, I read Death in the Clouds by Agatha Christie – I think I can truly say that I’ve finally found a Christie I could not estomac!

I was going to watch a movie tonight, but I just didn’t feel as if I had the energy to sit through something more than an hour long; and since we don’t watch TV, I don’t have a clue what might be on broadcast.

I knit about 6 rows on my current project, but when it came time to do the cabling again, I put it down because it required concentration that I’d obviously been lacking when I purled some knit stitches on the previous row. I had the presence of mind to be able to fix them as I came upon them, but clearly I shouldn’t have been knitting in the first place.

Conversely, last night, Brian was trying to fix a problem with our amp, and popped in a movie so he would know when he got sound. It was The Wizard of Oz, and for a good 45 minutes, I sat there and stared at the movie, mouthing the words of both dialogue and song based on what was playing on the screen. Guess that was about my speed. . .

1 Response to “Flashbacks, non-acid-related”


  1. 1 Cathy W
    March 11, 2009 at 2:56 pm

    Check out Catherine Enos Walquist WordPress. Later!


Leave a Reply

Post archive

March 2009
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers


