10
Feb
09

February 10, 2009

Oddly enough, this week seems like more of a struggle than last week. Perhaps it’s because I’ve started my second month of chemo; or maybe it’s just that I’ve started my second month of chemo before I’ve really recovered from the pneumonia.

Admittedly, it hasn’t been too bad a case of pneumonia, but I’ve been so tired, and feel pretty much as bad this week as I did last week.

I had a couple things I really needed to be *in* the office to do, and so commuted in yesterday and today; I’m having warning signs that the mid-week switch from one intestinal catastrophe (hint: “The Big C” is not Cancer in this scenario) to another is heading my way, so I’ll probably end up working from home for the rest of the week. Around my next chemo on Friday, of course.

As of last Friday, the doctor said that I’m currently not immune compromised; probably by this Friday, my White Blood Cell count will be down (leukopenia), but even that is not enough to make me immune compromised – it’s only when the type of white blood cells called neutrophils falls below 1000/mm3 (normal is 1800/mm3) that I need to worry about catching stuff. So pretty much after my next chemo round I’ll probably want to stay away from sickies and crowded places like the train.

I’m also having quite a lot of bone pain again – the doctor had recommended Glutamine, and I thought it was to help with this, but he said to take it for the first three days after chemo. Looking it up on the Internets, however, that it may not really have to anything to do with that (Glutamine). All I know is that I wasn’t having so much bone/muscle pain while I was taking it, and today it got worse. I’m going to start taking it again, to see if it helps.

We’ve got an appointment with the vet on Friday to discuss further diagnostics on Robin – he’s been fine ever since, but I want to make sure we’re not missing anything.

Other than that, life is going on, and we like it that way ;-}

0 Responses to “February 10, 2009”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Post archive

February 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers


