25
Jan
09

January 24, 2008

Chemo went well but slow yesterday – I ended up being in the chemo suite for 4-1/2 hours. It was extremely busy when I got there, and one of the nurses was filling in for the phone triage nurse, so they only had two nurses.

My white blood count was quite low, 1.2, when the minimum is 3 (not sure of the units on that); so I am officially immune-compromised. Basically, I’m supposed to avoid any sick people for at least the next week. I had to get a Neulasta shot this morning to help get my bone marrow producing more white blood cells. I had to do that after every chemo session last time, but this time it is on an as-needed basis. Since I don’t have another chemo for two weeks now, hopefully I should not need one next time.

The Taxol and Avastin both can cause bone and muscle/joint pain, and I’ve definitely been having problems with that – typically fairly low level (maybe a 2-1/2 to 3-1/2 on the pain scale) but sometimes escalating up to as high as a 6. Usually it *seems* worse at night – mostly because during the day I’m focused on work or whatever, and moving around, but at night I’m just trying to sleep. I had some Vicodan and some OxyContin left over from one or two of my many surgeries, but for some reason, although they knock back the pain for the most part, they’ve been wiring me, so I can’t take them at night; and even extra-strength tylenol isn’t enough to kill the pain at night. I can’t take any ibuprofen or nsaids because of the Avastin, which can cause bleeding problems, so the doctor gave me something stronger. I tried it last night, and it worked fine for the pain, and I slept pretty well for a couple hours, but then I was hit with some nausea – don’t know if it was chemo-related or due to the pain meds, but I basically didn’t get more than two hours sleep last night. Which so far has been OK, although I’m fading fast now.

My hair doesn’t seem to have reached the falling-out stage yet – I may go ahead and shave it to avoid having clumps falling out at inopportune moments; besides, I’ve decided that, since I can’t figure out how to have people sign my bald head like one would a cast, I’ll have them sign a hat, and then I get to keep it forever.

I’m taking it pretty easy this weekend, trying to conserve my energy so that I make it through the next week at work. Tomorrow some friends are coming to visit, the ones with the Dorkie – Robin is going to be ecstatic when Augie gets here. That should take some of the edge off *his* energy, thank goodness!

Not much else going on, and I’m pretty much ready to sack out. So goodnight, and have a pleasant tomorrow ;-}

2 Responses to “January 24, 2008”


  1. February 3, 2009 at 11:30 am

    Hi Julie,
    Carrie told me today that you are sick due to this nasty chemo taking away your much needed immune system. (Did they have to start your chemo during cold and flu season? HA!) Anyway, I’m thinking of you and we are all praying for you and Brian.
    Much love!
    Jenny

  2. 2 Kevin
    February 3, 2009 at 9:27 pm

    Hi there!

    Hope you are doing better…Let us know how Robin is too.
    We talked about you tonight (all good) and I am sitting here thinking about you now before I toddle off to bed.

    I hope you are resting and not worrying about everything. ZEN, (serenity now!) works! If you work it…

    Take care and our love,

    kevin and darren


Leave a Reply

Post archive

January 2009
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers


