09
Dec
08

December 9, 2008

All went well with the chemo port implantation – the surgeon was a little late because her 5-year-old had mislaid his library book and they had to search for it, but I was back in recovery by 9:00 a.m., and home by 10:30 a.m.

St. V’s has a new piece of equipment in the pre-op ward that is pretty cool (well, so to speak). They now have warming gowns. What are warming gowns, you might ask? Well, they are paper gowns, lined with paper air channels, and with hose ports. There is a separate blower unit that produces air, and has a hose that connects to the gown. The hose has an adjustable temperature control, so if the air blowing through the gown is too hot or too cool, you can adjust it to fit. I was able to finish blow-drying my hair, too ;-}

My feet got cold, though.

After I got home, I had a little bit to eat, then took another pain pill and lay down. Robin and the cats took shifts on keeping an eye on me – although at one point, all three were required to make sure that I was napping properly.

Normally I sleep on my left side, occasionally flipping over to the right; it will be interesting to see if I can sleep without rolling over. I’m heading to bed shortly, so will find out soon.

0 Responses to “December 9, 2008”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Post archive

December 2008
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers


