25
Feb
08

February 25, 2008

The countdown begins . . .

We met with both surgeons last Thursday – everything is set to go for this coming Friday. I have a pre-admissions appointment Tuesday morning, where they take a broad medical history, make sure any medications I need are arranged for, and do any necessary blood tests.

First, my chemo port will be removed. While the surgeon who did my mastectomy does that, the plastic surgeon will work on my left breast. He expects to finish both sides in roughly an hour – the incision is made over the existing mastectomy scars, and a slit is made in the muscle that overlays the tissue expanders. The permanent implants are inserted, drains are inserted, and everything is closed up.

The ovarian removal will be done laparoscopically, using a Da Vinci robot. I went to their web site, and you can even view video of surgery being performed. Frankly, it’s a lot less messy inside than one would expect. It’s sort of like doing surgery with a Wii.

I have to be on a clear liquid diet on Thursday, only broth, clear juices, water, jello. Any other ideas of clear liquids that anyone can suggest are welcome (I’ve already considered the intoxicants – probably a gin and tonic would be fine, but it would require quite a few of them to stop me from being hungry).

Our neighbors are going to dogsit Robin on Friday – so while I’m under the knife, he’ll be romping around with Jasmine. Doesn’t seem fair, does it?

Last Friday, I started noticing that I seem to be having temperature-control problems, more than just the usual throwing-off-the-blankets-at-night kind (although those are still extant). Rather than hot flashes, I’m having hot sustaineds. I especially get very hot if I’m wearing a hat or scarf, and as of today, I’ve had to spend most of my time bare-headed, because every time I got cool enough to put my hat back on, it would take very little time for me to reach “boiling” point. This is all well and good during the winter (I didn’t need to buy that down coat after all!), but it’s going to be expensive during the summer, having to run the air conditioning constantly at 50 degrees ;-}

Anyway, not really much else to tell – Brian will post after surgery to update how I’m doing. I will be in the hospital for at least one night, maybe two. It’ll really depend on how they feel I’m doing clot-wise (or, of course, if there are any complications).

A very big thank-you to Schrodinger (my employer) for making an extremely generous donation to the Making Strides Against Breast Cancer event – and to everyone else who has made donations so far or joined the team to walk. I am humbled and overwhelmed by the caring and support that everyone has shown me personally, and I greatly appreciate the willingness to support the cause, also.

Julie

0 Responses to “February 25, 2008”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Post archive

February 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
242526272829  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers


