10
Feb
08

February 10, 2008

Just call me Captain Peachfuzz . . .

Biggest news first: I have hair! As of 5-weeks-post-chemo, I couldn’t see or feel any hair besides the stubble that never seemed to go away in the first place. On Monday I thought I felt a little bit, and by Wednesday, I definitely had peach fuzz that was both tactile and visible. It’s very soft, mostly white, and looks like it’s pretty thin so far, but historically my hair has grown very fast, so I suspect that before long I’ll exchange the peach-fuzz look for the dandelion look. There’s no warmth involved, however – I still need to wear scarves or hats to keep from freezing. Every once in a while I’ll get too warm and take off my hat to cool off, but that’s pretty rare.

My weigh-in went great on Friday – I finally made a significant loss of 2.6 pounds in one week. I was starting to get very frustrated by the minuscule losses. Then, of course, we went out of town for two days, and it’s very hard to eat out without blowing the program. I managed to do pretty well, though, and have plenty of points left to celebrate Valentine’s Day dinner at Alessandro’s ;-}

We got out to Newport Friday night around 10 p.m. The drive was fine, mostly dry, until we got over to Newport. When we woke up Saturday morning, though, there was some sunshine, and even though it clouded up over the course of the day, it never rained. Unfortunately, we hit the high tide wrong, so instead of going to the beach that day, we went out to the Yaquina Bay Lighthouse. We wandered through the museum, and climbed to the top of the tower. The ocean is rocky right around Yaquina Head, and with the tide in, very dramatic. That evening we played games, just having the opportunity to enjoy each others’ company without all the pressures of being home and having to deal with ‘stuff’.

Sunday we checked out and headed up the coast. We stopped for a brief stroll at Agate Beach, which, contrary to its name, had no agates that I could find, although there were some very good whole shells. Then we continued on to Lincoln City, where we stopped to visit with my Aunt Pat and Uncle Dick (and Carleton the Westie). We went to lunch at Mo’s down in Taft, which is the original restaurant – I hadn’t been there in many, many years. It was nice to catch up on family news, and see the addition on the house – they have a great view of the ocean from the new room upstairs, and it’s very cozy. Traffic home on Highways 18 and 99W was surprisingly sparse, so it only took a little more than 2 hours.

Robin enjoyed his stay with Sharon, Gary, and Jasmine. Since he wasn’t able to go to the beach, at least he got to go somewhere where they really understand him! April and Jeremy were right at the door waiting when we got home, and pretended they didn’t care that we were gone. Except that April is following Brian everywhere this evening . . .

Thank you to everyone who has made a donation or signed up so far for the Making Strides Against Breast Cancer walk – your support for the team and me personally is greatly appreciated. More importantly, I appreciate all the moral support that everyone has been so generous with in the last few months, and I depend on it to help me get through the next surgery and recovery period. Hopefully, there will be leftover support for those who have to deal with my newly menopausal self.

Well, now that I’m home, I have to deal with ‘stuff’, like getting to bed at a reasonable hour and making sure I have enough coffee for tomorrow. All the best to you all,

Julie

0 Responses to “February 10, 2008”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Post archive

February 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
242526272829  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers


