02
Feb
08

February 2, 2008

Happy Groundhog Day!

We’re not the least surprised here in Portland to know that P. Phil saw his shadow – the clouds, wind, and rain definitely look as if they’re here to stay. It’s actually rather comforting weather for me, as it reminds me of all the road trips that we took when I was a child – driving in the rain in Oregon seems natural because we did it so often. My one regret about the cold and rain is that I haven’t been able to drive with my convertible top down since before my surgery last year.

Next weekend we’re traveling to Newport for a couple nights, because I really want to get out of the house – this will be my first excursion away from Portland since early September. Between surgery, chemo, work, and facing another surgery, if we don’t go now, it’ll probably be late April or more likely May before we’re able to get away. Robin isn’t able to come, although he would love it, since he loves the beach; but he gets to stay with his friend Jasmine, so he may not even notice we’re gone.

Some of my coworkers have done a really wonderful thing – the American Cancer Society holds a walk every year to raise money for breast cancer research. Jenny, along with Lynnette and Shi-Yi, decided to set up a team in my name, called “Supporting Julie”. It is impossible to describe in words how honored and touched I feel. The Making Strides Against Breast Cancer walk is on May 10, 2008, starting at 9:00 a.m., but the starting location is not determined yet. For anyone who is interested in joining the team to walk with us, or in making a donation in our team’s name, follow this link: SupportingJulie. If you want more information about Making Strides Against Breast Cancer, here is a link to the main page: Making Strides Against Breast Cancer. I will be walking in memory of mom, and in honor of my aunt, two of my cousins, and a friend.

My surgery date has now been confirmed – it*is* going to be February 29th, at 7:30 a.m. That means that I have to be at the hospital at 5:30 a.m. – since I’m going to be asleep most of the day, it won’t matter much to me, but poor Brian! The nice thing for me is that my previous surgery was scheduled for 2:00 p.m., and I couldn’t eat or drink after midnight – for this surgery, the cut-off is still midnight, so I don’t have to suffer through all those hours of thirst and hunger. The surgery(s) are expected to take up to 5 hours between them, and then, of course, it’s usually an hour or more in recovery before they take you up to a room. So for me, the day will be pretty short; Brian’s day is going to be pretty long.

Tonight we’re going out to dinner with some friends, so I have the challenge of being able to find something to eat that won’t totally gobble up all my points for the week. I’ve had a light breakfast and lunch, so I should be able to splurge a little bit – it’s the point where I have to make the responsible decision of ordering something sensible rather than a burger and fries; or fish and chips; or the creamy, cheesy, most fat-laden dish on the menu that is the hard part. Especially in this weather, hot food rather than a salad seems necessary, so I have to try to come up with something grilled or baked. We’re going to the Cornelius Pass Roadhouse (a McMenamin’s pub), so that seems pretty unlikely. Also, I will need to restrain myself from my usual pint of Ruby mixed with hard cider that goes down so well. Or maybe I’ll just have that and skip the meal altogether ;-} Well, not really, but having one might make the idea of a salad much more palatable. . . My weigh-in this week was disappointing, but at least my weight went down, even if only by a fraction of a pound. I don’t want to blow it now, when surely, by following the plan religiously, sooner or later it will start showing. I’ve tried very hard to account for everything I eat, and make overestimates of how much I take in situations where I can’t measure it exactly. I try to comfort myself with the thought that working out in physical therapy is building muscle tissue, which weighs more than the fat. I try not to use up my Activity points, although I definitely did this week, between work’s Winter Party and the beading group night.

My next beading group night is the night before my surgery – I definitely plan on going, because it is now a tradition that I go to some sort of crafting group or class the night before surgery. Last time, it was a quilting class. Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to continue the class due to recovery taking longer than I expected. So I planned on taking the class this spring when it was offered again. Guess what? The first session of the class is the week after I have my latest surgery. If I were paranoid, I’d say it was a conspiracy to stop me from taking the class – Brian, did you call the teacher and bribe her into moving it?

I’ve been reading a lot this winter. Mostly I’ve been in the mood for light stuff, so I’ve been re-reading the Discworld series by Terry Pratchett. I also have read a lot of The Sandman by Neil Gaiman – not that it is light reading at all, but it is very compelling, and an incredible graphic novel series (comic books for adults). Even with getting back to work, I’ve been reading a lot – historically my average is about 13 books per month, and I read 21 books in January.

BTW, I haven’t noticed any hair growing yet. They say it takes 4 – 6 weeks for hair growth to restart after chemo, and it has now been 5 weeks. I still have the usual crop of stubble, but it’s not getting any longer, nor is it filling in areas where there hasn’t been any hair. I keep meaning to get some pictures of me bald, and we just haven’t done it. Maybe today.

Julie

0 Responses to “February 2, 2008”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Post archive

February 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
242526272829  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers


