22
Jan
08

January 22, 2008

Last week was my first week back to work part-time after the chemo (in the office – I’ve been working from home some since mid-December) – it went well, although I don’t have a lot of stamina back yet.  Just the extra focus required for driving in and home again after work made me very tired.  However, this kind of tired was a much more natural tired than that engendered by the chemo – plus, although I’m still having problems coming up with a word now and then, the brain-fog has lifted, and I can concentrate again.   By the end of the week, I definitely felt that I wasn’t as tired after work as I had been at the beginning of the week.

I started back in physical therapy on Monday this week.  I’m hoping that by the time my next surgery rolls around that I’ll be somewhere near the same condition I was in prior to the mastectomy.  All in all, I think that the physical therapy prior to that surgery made a major difference in how well I recovered, and how well I tolerated the chemotherapy.  My record for following through on exercising every day is suffering, however.  Right now, I’m avoiding taking the dog out into the incredibly cold weather by blogging.  I know he’ll forgive me, although his sad eyes may haunt me for the rest of my life . . .

I don’t have a date yet for the combined ovary/implant surgery.  I called the doctor’s office today, and it turned out that the doctor hadn’t yet put in the scheduling request.  The day we had the consultation was the day their office was packing to move to a new building, so everything was rather chaotic.  As it turns out, all the information was in my file, it just hadn’t made it from there to the surgery scheduler.  I got the ball rolling today, so hopefully I should have a firm date within the next few days.  We’re targeting the 29th of February (then I don’t have to face yet another painful anniversary except once every four years!), although it will depend on if the pole position (i.e., the first surgery of the morning) is available.  I actually didn’t catch why that made a difference, but I think it had something to do with the fact that the laparoscopic robot-assist machine needed to be worked into the plan – apparently there’s only one of them.

I’m now in the “maintenance” phase of taking the blood thinner, and I have to go in every two weeks or so to have my INR (blood-clotting time) level checked.  Depending on where it falls, my dosage gets adjusted, and I have to rearrange my pill case.  It’s really kind of a pain in the patootie – but having another pulmonary embolism could be even worse – dead doesn’t really sound like much fun.

Not really much else to add at this point, except that I’m starting to feel my mood come up out of the dumps.  Certainly part of the problem was the chemo itself, as it depresses one’s body, which has an inevitable effect of depressing one’s emotions.  Now that I’m getting past the physical effects of the chemo and I’m starting to feel better, I know that is helping with my mood.  Being able to go into the office and be part of the group again also helps.  But I think a big part is that I’ve begun to accept that the ovarian surgery really is necessary – and besides, reading the statistics about pulmonary embolisms scared the bejeezus out of me, which made me realize that I really don’t want to take any additional risk of getting another one.  Mortality is a wonderful motivator!

Julie

1 Response to “January 22, 2008”


  1. 1 David S.
    January 23, 2008 at 11:43 am

    Sorry to tell you this, but “problems coming up with a word now and then” is quite normal for a person of your (and my) age! 😉


Leave a Reply

Post archive

January 2008
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers


