25
Nov
07

November 25, 2007

Well, I did it.

More accurately, *we* did it.

There’s a picture below from part way through the process, and the full series of pictures can be found here: http://picasaweb.google.com/BrianAndJulieMartin/JuliesHairCut

half-way there

Friday night, Brian, Cathy, and I plunked me in the tub and pulled out Brian’s beard-trimmer (which, purchased by me for Brian in a major feat of precognition last March (or I may simply have been getting the most out of a bargain) included a full set of accessories for trimming pretty much any kind of hair men typically have. We did not use the nostril-hair trimmer.)

As you’ll see from the photo album, we had a lot of fun while we were doing it – in spite of the shell-shock look I am wearing in some of the photos, I’m really pretty pleased at how I look bald – well, mostly bald. Because I can’t use a bladed razor currently, due to being on the blood anticoagulant, and because my electric razor doesn’t give as good a shave as a bladed razor, there’s actually quite a bit of stubble there. We did try Nair, and believe me, that is not a good thing to use on your barenaked scalp – particularly on a newly shaved, previously pampered girly-scalp.

The funny thing about stubble is that (as my friend Sue warned) it acts like Velcro. This is not always a good thing. While it helps keep slippery scarves and knitted caps on your head, it can also do things like prevent you from moving your head on the pillow. The deafening roar of stubble rubbing on a pillowcase is also a sleep-preventive. And it itches.

Fortunately, I expect the majority of the stubble to leave of its own accord in a week or two. Well, OK, actually with a little help from its friends, the chemo drugs. But in the meantime, I’ll just learn to live with it.

Sadly, we haven’t yet done the henna tattoo. Cathy came up with a great dragon design, and after we finished the cut, we started getting set up to do the tattoo. Fortunately, before we’d smeared my scalp with any goopy, slimy stuff to transfer the design, we read the instructions on preparing the henna, and realized we should have started the whole process in the morning. Not only do you have to let the henna sit for two hours after mixing it up, you have to leave the paste on the skin for six hours after applying it. So we’re going to do it later – it’ll depend on how this week goes for both Cathy and me; we might have to wait for the weekend after next, since I’ll have just had chemo on Friday this week.

Remember I’d been complaining about not having the promised steroid high? Well. I also seem to have avoided a lot of the worst side-effects of chemo, at least for this first one – mostly I had reflux, and felt fatigue and brain-fogginess, with occasional bouts of mild nausea (easily dealt with by eating a little, or resorting to anti-nausea drugs), a few other gastrological symptoms, and a bit of moodiness. Cathy, who is a cancer survivor herself, told me that she’d stolen my steroid high last Saturday, but then paid for it by having a fever and other miserable symptoms for a couple days. Now that is a true friend!

I hope that you all had a lovely Thanksgiving. We enjoyed ours, spending Thanksgiving day with our friends Sharon and Gary, also including Bill, Kevin, Jasmine, Keeko, and Robin (and lots of incredibly good food!). We had a second Thanksgiving at our house on Friday, with Cathy, Wally, and Augie the Dorky, again with an incredible array of fantastic food that Wally and Cathy prepared. We also got to talk to family, and the only thing that would have made it a better weekend is to have been able to spend the holiday with our family as well as our friends.

I am thankful for many things, number one being Brian. The last few months have made me realize how thankful I am for my many friends (many of whom are also family) – friends who listen when I need to talk; who wait in the hospital while I am waiting for surgery; who make contact without waiting to hear from me first; who drive me to the doctor when I can’t drive myself; who share their homes and love with us; who share the benefit of their experience; who take me looking for cranial prostheses; who keep me laughing; who are willing to shave my head for me; and those who silently and publicly send their good will and thoughts and prayers. This is not an all-inclusive list – there are so many ways in which I have been shown friendship, but everyone I know fits in the above list in at least one way.

Thank you all.

Julie

1 Response to “November 25, 2007”


  1. 1 Rob Spooner
    February 19, 2008 at 4:07 pm

    The second tallest Sitka spruce is located near Munson Creek Falls south of Tillamook.


Leave a Reply

Post archive

November 2007
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers


