17
Nov
07

November 16, 2007

What I want to know is, where the #*%# is my steroid high?

Everyone who’s had chemo has told me that they had a steroid high after chemo – some even said it was the same day and lasted into the next. I am still waiting . . . I had to take a long nap after we got home, and I was definitely ready for bed an hour ago, but I had to delay it in order to eat something to deal with the most major side effect I’ve had so far: my GERD is acting up.

My GERD (Gastro Esophogeal Reflux Disease) has been well under control with Nexium, and the Nexium is still doing part of its job – controlling acid. What it isn’t controlling currently is the reflux part of it. For anyone not familiar with this (weak-stomached readers may want to skip to the next paragraph here), having reflux is like vomiting in slow motion. I’ve used some Tums and some Rolaids, and tried one of the anti-nausea drugs they gave me, and each one helps a little bit. I’ve got one more anti-nausea drug that is supposed to be good to take at night since it makes you drowsy, so I’m going to take it tonight, very soon. Hopefully it will take care of the problem. Grazing also seems to help a little.

There is a metallic taste in my mouth, and a feeling that it coats the mouth and throat, but so far it hasn’t affected the way food tastes too badly. When I had lunch, I noticed some difference from the beginning of lunch to the end of lunch; but the food still tasted good. Many women say that food just tastes bad, or doesn’t taste at all – this may be coming, as tomorrow is supposed to be worse than today, and Sunday may be my nadir – it could stretch out to Monday – it’s anyone’s guess how I’ll react to the drugs.

My sense of smell is also heightened – again, not to the point where things smell badly when they wouldn’t normally, but perhaps it’s just that they’re more intense. It seems to me that intensity might become bad – too much of even a good thing might be overwhelming.

So that was my first day after having chemo – if I think about my hair, I notice some tingling in my scalp, but that might just be psychosomatic. I still haven’t decided when I’m going to shave my head. It might be as early as tomorrow, although I am going to need to get a warm cap of some kind, as the weather is getting cooler.

Cheers!

Julie

0 Responses to “November 16, 2007”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Post archive

November 2007
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers


